A Little Birdie

Hello everyone,

The challenge at For Fun Challenges this week is to use the poppin’ pastels technique. Heard of this technique before but never try or see how it works. Helen gave us a link to Gina K’s video on how to do this and it seems quite easy (…but actually it is not, it is really a technique). I do have a Versamark inkpad, but no chalks or pastels. Yesterday I visited the dentist, so when finished with this, I was off to the local craft shop hunting for chalks or pastels. Unfortunately they were sold out but had some soft artist pastels they sell individually – suits me well because I first want to see if I can master the technique. The sales lady asked politely what I was going to do with one pastel and when I started explaining about chalk popping she stared at me as if I was from the planet Mars …. but you can image why. My lip was still swollen from the dental work done, mumbling a little bit because of the sore tooth, buying one artist pastel and talk about chalk popping must have been weird. But anyway, I love this technique and promised the sales lady that I will show her my card. I am entering the card for the following challenges:

For Fun Challenges – Can you pop?

CAS-tastic Wednesday Challenge CWC008 – Father’s Day 

Polka Doodles Week 24 Challenge – Father’s Day / Male Theme

I used the following to create the card:

  • White and rust cardstock
  • Inkadinkado Clear stamp set 97625 “Birds Galore” 
  • Great Impressions (South Africa) N1326 background stamp
  • Toison D’or artist pastel “Rust”
  • VersaMark inkpad
  • Gold Peel Off’s
  • Two gold embellishments
  • Ashrad artist’s fixative spray

Thanks for visiting and looking at my card. Have a great week.

Greetings from South Africa,

Amelia

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 01:24:31

    A very simple & striking card! Thanks for playing along with Polka Doodles this week.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Tracy
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 17:10:59

    Gorgeous creation, thanks for joining Polkadoodles challenge, good luck.
    Happy crafting
    Tracy x

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kerry
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 14:18:35

    Great card. Thanks for joining us at Polkadoodles this week.

    Like

    Reply

  4. chilli pip
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 15:44:19

    I don’t think the others were enthusiastic enough this is so beautiful, I really like everything about it .
    Totally different from your other cards hope you use this technique again.
    Sorry did I say I like the card…

    Like

    Reply

  5. Tracey
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 12:25:29

    This is a beautiful card Amelia 🙂 I’m looking forward to working with you on the For Fun DT!

    Hope you’re having a great week.

    Hugs
    Tracey
    xx

    Like

    Reply

  6. Nettie
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 05:03:27

    Great male card, thanks for joining in at Polkadoodles this week.x

    Like

    Reply

  7. Deb Neerman
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 02:56:12

    Love this!

    Thanks for joining us in this week’s CAS-tastic Wednesday Clean And Simple ‘Father’s Day’ card challenge!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Lisa
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 02:55:34

    Hi Amelia! Welcome aboard at For Fun Challneges! I looked through your sight and you do beautiful work. Can’t wait to work with you.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Karen B.
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 02:50:47

    Beautiful card, so soft and lovely.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Mary Ski
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 01:49:20

    Welcome to the For Fun Challenges DT!! I love your cards. I’ve been snooping. It’ll be fun working with you.

    Mary Ski & Sir Chester
    http://purrfectsentiments.blogspot.com

    Like

    Reply

  11. helen dooley
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 15:06:29

    And boy oh boy did you do a marvelous job! This is a beautiful card and Im glad you shared the story and card with us at For Fun!
    HUGS~

    Like

    Reply

  12. Carol
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 14:36:00

    Very stunning card Amelia! Love the colors you’ve chosen and the embellies. The frame for the bird is beautiful.
    Thanks so much for playing along with us at For Fun this week. Your creations are always an inspiration.
    “Hugs” Carol

    Like

    Reply

  13. Sharon Keanly
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 10:49:16

    Your card is beautiful Amelia. Good luck with the challenges, I am sure you will do well. Hope you’re feeling a bit better after the visit to the dentist. Take care, Sharon

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment. Thank you for taking the time.

