Harvest Time

Hello everyone,

The theme for this week’s For Fun Challenge is Turkey Day or Thanksgiving. For my DT card I used a stamp I bought a very long time ago – the copyright date on the stamp is 1999. The stamp is from PSX who discontinued their stamp range about 2 years ago – what a pity because of the exquisite designs and quality of these stamps. I love this specific stamp because it reminds me of my father’s truck with which our family had so much fun on the farm. The truck is a 1934 Dodge and owned by my grandfather. After grandfather passed away my father inherited old “Spokie”. Usually my father transported hay and lucerne from the farm-lands to the cattle kraals and pony stables. Our children always jumped on to have a free ride back home, clinging for dear life to stay on top of the load. Today the truck is a vintage and my brother-in-law renovated “Spokie” to its original glory. Yes, one can only be thankful for such wonderful moments and memories we can still cherish.

 I also entered my card for the following challenges:

 

I used the following to create the card:

  • PSX stamp  K-2040
  • White and blue cardstock
  • K and Company Designer paper “Wild Saffron”
  • Heritage white acrylic paint for distressing
  •  Twinkling H2O’s and Perfect Pearls for colouring
  • Spellbinders Shapeabilities “Fancy tags”
  • Computer generated sentiment

The Design Team ladies at For Fun Challenges created the most beautiful cards for your inspiration. Hope you will take part in the fun at For Fun Challenges this week. It can’t wait to see your creations linked on the blog.

Greetings from South Africa and thanks for stopping by,

Amelia

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mari Harpham
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 23:07:43

    What a delight! Very nice. Thanks for joining us at Creative Cards Crew.

    Like

    Reply

  2. alica
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 17:19:18

    wonderful! Great image and your coloring is great. Love the soft papers you used too!
    Thanks for joining us at Paper Sundaes this week!

    Like

    Reply

  3. ursula uphof
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 15:48:37

    Just found your blog, courtesy of Inspirational. I love your cards, and will be a frequent visitor. Warm wishes.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Gloria Stengel
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 03:56:03

    I love your card! I wish I had that stamp! I also have some PSX and am sad they are no longer available. Thanks for playing at Paper Sundaes this week!

    Like

    Reply

  5. shellshearer
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 00:49:04

    Oh I just love this image its perfect for the theme, so thank you for sharing with us at ‘The Crazy’ this week, good luck!
    Hugs Shell xx

    Like

    Reply

  6. Lisa
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 22:24:43

    This card is absolutely gorgeous! I love the story behind it and should post a picture of the restored truck on here….I would love to see it and I’m sure others would too.
    xo
    Lisa

    Like

    Reply

  7. Tracey
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 19:22:39

    Fantastic card Amelia, I love that image so different but so cool 🙂

    Hugs
    Tracey
    xx

    Like

    Reply

  8. Emmi41
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 18:47:51

    Very great card – nice motiv and great design! Thanks for joining stamp with fun.
    Big hug
    Andrea-Emmi41

    Like

    Reply

  9. helen dooley
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 17:16:30

    This is wonderful!! Great job Amelia!

    Like

    Reply

  10. Sharon Keanly
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 08:54:13

    Oh Amelia, I just love this stamp of yours. What wonderful memories it brings to mind for you… that is so precious! You’ve done a wonderful job putting this card together in terms of colour combo, distressing, colouring, etc. Good luck with the challenges. Tons of hugs, Sharon x

    Like

    Reply

  11. Carol
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 07:26:42

    Wonderful story Amelia! I’m so glad the family is keeping the heirloom running for many more joyous memories. It’s a beautiful card but the story behind it is what makes it even more beautiful. “Hugs” Carol

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment. Thank you for taking the time.

