Purrfect Day…

Hello everyone,

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday and wishing you a prosperous new year filled with peace, love and special memories.

On the last day of 2010 I am already taking on new kind of challenges. For several months I am following Jennifer Styles and Susan Raihala’s blogs showcasing their one layer cards. These cards really speak to me but I always hesitated to make them. But as we face a new year why not taking on new challenges – I devoted myself that in 2011 I will make an effort to learn lots of new cardmaking skills. This week’s challenge at One-Layer Wednesday 34 : Boot Camp! is to create  a one-layer card using only one image stamp and no more than two ink colours.  You may also use a sentiment stamp. NO  embellishments of any kind are allowed. Really tough for me who love flowers,  dainty embellishments and lots of detail!

Well, here is my attempt to become an expert on one-layer cards – one of my future dreams :-). For the first card I used caramel cardstock and stamped and coloured the image with Tim Holtz Distress Ink “Vintage Photo”.

For those who don’t like a ginger kitty I made a grey one too with Tim Holtz Distressing Ink “Black Soot”.

I used the following to create the cards:

  • White and caramel cardstock
  • Penny Black Purrfect Day clear stamp set for image and sentiment
  • Tim Holtz Distressing Inks “Vintage Photo” and “Black Soot”

That’s all from me today and for 2010. Have a lovely evening and a happy New Year’s day.

Greetings from South Africa,

Amelia 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Styles
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 20:05:58

    I love these adorable kitty cards! They are just purr-fect! Heh 🙂

    Great job on the challenge and thanks for playing along with OLW34!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Deborah Frings
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 18:04:00

    These are great!! Love them both, but the grey kitty is my favourite.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Carol (Craftingranny)
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 09:10:20

    These images are just so cute. You really accomplished what you set out to do cause these are great! Not your normal style but very nicely done. Good luck with this challenge. I don’t think I could do it and I really admire you giving it a go. Hope your new year is full of fun, love, good health, and lots of prosperous adventures. “Hugs” Carol

    Like

    Reply

  4. Sharon Keanly
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 16:14:52

    Nice job on the 1 layer card. I think I would struggle with that too, but am also going to be trying something new this year. Thanks for sharing, hugs Sharon

    Like

    Reply

  5. Lorie
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 08:19:35

    Those are both adorable! Clean and simple cards are so hard to do but you did a great job!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Janelle
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 21:49:48

    Nice one layer cards. Your coloring really brings those kitties to life! Good job stepping out of your comfort zone and trying a new challenge. What a way to end the year!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Susan Goetter
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 17:51:15

    Too cute! Just changing the colors gives it a totally different look!!

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment. Thank you for taking the time.

