Roses For You

Hello friends,

Today is a public holiday in South Africa – Human Rights Day – and what a perfect day in Pretoria, a clear blue sky with large, white clouds appearing on the horizon. Expecting a thunderstorm this afternoon but not complaining as we need the rain to get us through the dry, dusty winter months on the Highveld. I received my new Penny Black stamps from the Spring 2011 catalogue from 1-2-3 Stitch last week and if you are a regular visitor to my blog you know how fond I am of these stamps. Today’s card feature a gorgeous lady and not a critter as usual. The reason why I bought this stamp is because I  admire her skinny, long legs and the waistline – wow – to die for. Wish I was twenty again! The lace is from a dear friend in Cape Town, Sharon and I love it. If you have time, a visit to Sharon’s Kardz Korner is a feast for the eye.

As this is a large stamp I created the card in a different way than a usually 15 x 15cm card. I cut my card 13 x 15cm and positioned the image layer 2 cm above the card edge.  This way the card still fits into a 15 x 15cm envelope and does not appear to be cluttered. Hope I make sense as I am not good at explaining things. Hope you like the card.

I entered my card in the following challenges:

 

The sentiment

The inside of the card

I used the following to create the card:

  • Penny Black stamp 4164K “A Rose”
  • Lili of the Valley Circular sentiment stamp “For You”
  • K & Co Designer Paper
  • White and pink cardstock
  • Paper roses
  • Buttons
  • Venise (Guipere) lace and flowers
  • Satin Ribbon
  • Towbow pens for colouring
  • Tim Holtz Distress Inks “Tattered Rose” and “Victorian Velvet”

Enjoy a wonderful week and I would love to know what you think about my card. Happy crafting

Regards from South Africa,

Amelia

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chillipip
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 18:04:53

    Hi Amelia,
    Like you I am a huge fan of the Penny Black range and this is a beauty.
    I love the way you arrange your flowers they always look so elegant.
    A lovely card as always. xxx

    Like

    Reply

  2. DesigNeAl
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 21:07:08

    Wow! I love the stamp – and the legs and the waistline too 😉
    Thanks for joining us at Ooh La la with your beautiful card; we hope to see you again soon

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kristin
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 15:31:21

    This card is fabulous! I love your flowers and lace. Thanks for playing this week at The Shabby Tea Room.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Heike
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 20:55:52

    Wow, your card is amazing, so lovely Details. Thanks so much for joining us at Totally Gorjuss challenge this week.

    Hugs
    Heike

    Like

    Reply

  5. Melissa Bove
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 20:36:59

    So, so pretty! Love it! Thank you so much for joining us this week at The Shabby Tea Room!

    Hugs…
    Melissa
    TSTR DT

    Like

    Reply

  6. Anne
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 13:12:30

    Oh Amelia this is just perfect for our challenge at OLL this time. Hugs x

    Like

    Reply

  7. debby4000
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 13:01:15

    Gorgeous and adorable.
    luv
    Debby

    Like

    Reply

  8. Sharon Keanly
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 11:36:22

    I struggled to find where to post a comment on your blog, so I had to go back to your email, but I am HERE and so very pleased to leave a comment. This creation is absolutely BEAUTIFUL Amelia. Just love the whole distressed look… which I still need to try and master… but that’s the great about this hobby, trying and learning something new each day. Love the way you’ve decorated your flowers too and that sentiment is lovely. What a blessing to have had a public holiday yesterday, hugs Sharon

    Like

    Reply

  9. sharon wheet
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 21:10:18

    Amelia, your card is simply gorgeous! I love that Penny Black stamp! I have a similar one I used at Christmas for a few cards that went to my girlfriends. Love all the pink! And all the girly touches! TFS

    Like

    Reply

  10. Moz
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 18:50:57

    Adorable! Love the distressing, colours and the trimmings. Especially love the stamp and your interpretation!
    As always, beautifully made and a real pleasure to enjoy!
    Hugz

    Like

    Reply

  11. Char4355
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 17:32:43

    Beautiful Amelia! I love the lace and your stamp is adorable!Thanks for joining us this week in The Shabby Tea Room!

    Like

    Reply

  12. Debbie Marcinkiewicz
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 15:47:59

    Pure loveliness here … oh so pretty in pink, love the lace, sweet image, fabby shading, beautiful flowers and ribbons … thanks for sharing with us all in the Tea Room this week 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  13. Carol
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 15:38:33

    Beautiful card Amelia. I love the shades of pink you’ve used for this feminine image. This style of card is perfect and puts the emphasis on the “tall “image. The lace is gorgeous and the way you’ve used the embellishments with the roses and ribbons is awesome. Always such a pleasure to visit and see your wonderful creations. Enjoy your beautiful day off. “Hugs” Carol

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment. Thank you for taking the time.

