Framed in Blue

Hello everyone,

Today I want to share a vintage tag I made for a gift box.  I used an image from Stampers Anonymous “French Shrine”  The image was stamped with Tim Holtz distress ink “Vintage photo” and cut out. For a vintage look I highlighted the edges of the frame with a gold leaf pen and popped some of the shrine  details with mirror tape. As this gift tag is for a friend I chose a Whimsy  “Postage stamp” sentiment . Not everything went smoothly on this creation, I punched a hole for the ribbon as large as the Big Hole of Kimberley mine. These boo-boo’s are usually the result of doing too many things at the same time. Not looking at the size of the punch I just snapped through the paper and, oh my, a very , very large hole for such a small tag was staring at me. Well, hopefully, my tag will attract as many visitors as the Big Hole that is a big tourist attraction in South Africa!

I made the tag for the following challenges and a linky party:

A close-up of the sentiment, butterfly and lace

Love to play with paper roses, my favourite embellishment

Project details:

  • Cream cardstock and blue and pink designer paper
  • Stampers Anonymous “French Shrine Large” P4-723
  • Whimsy Postage stamp sentiment
  • Paper roses
  • Martha Stewart punch “Monarch butterfly”
  • Marianne Design Creatables LR0106 and LR0116
  • Pearls
  • Lace
  • Satin ribbon
  • Tim Holtz Distress ink “Vintage Photo”
  • Krylon 18KT. Gold leafing pen

Thanks for visiting today, I really appreciate each visit and comment. Have a wonderful week and please double-check before punching holes in tags! Happy crafting.

Regards from a cold South Africa,

Amelia

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. raindropecho
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 06:52:28

    Oh my goodness, this is just BREATHTAKING! What a gorgeous design, such beautiful flowers, and I am so humbled that you have used the Postage Stamp so very beautifully. Wonderful creation!

    – Ann

    Like

    Reply

  2. Caroline
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 22:58:25

    Stunning Work!!!! Thanks so much for joining in with the Crafty Calender this month.
    Caroline x

    Like

    Reply

  3. Linda Coughlin
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 18:06:50

    Holy moly, what a work of art you have created here! I don’t even know where to start to tell you what I love about it so I’ll just say I love EVERYTHING! An amazing piece of work. So happy you joined in the fun with us this week at Simon Says Stamp and Show.

    Like

    Reply

  4. chillipip
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 17:05:21

    Amelia this is so beautiful.
    an absolute inspiration to other crafters .
    Elegant ,stylish ,tasteful you name it.
    You are really one of the best Shabby Chic-ers out there.
    love it ….have i made myself clear?

    Like

    Reply

  5. Merry
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 12:18:36

    Oh wow…love all the butterflies and flowers. Such a beautiful tag. Visiting from Make it Monday.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Michelle
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 11:12:52

    Hi

    Wow, positively beautiful!!
    The more I look the more fabulous detail I see.
    I think the hole looks just perfect.

    Thank you for sharing with us at Make It Monday this week.

    Michelle 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  7. Poupette
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 21:51:40

    Waouhh ton tag est une pure merveille, j’adore ce coté vintage et toutes ces fleurs .

    Bises
    Christine

    Like

    Reply

  8. Candy Colwell
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 23:49:50

    Amelia…your tag is elegant beauty! I love everything about it! The colors are so lovely and the flowers, die cuts and stamped images all work together for a beautiful tag. Thanks for sharing your art with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge. ❤ Candy

    Like

    Reply

  9. Gillian
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 20:47:16

    This is one lovely vintage inspired tag, love all the wonderful embellishments.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Amanda R
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 16:56:59

    Thiis is gorgeous! Love the ribbon, the flowers, absolutely everything! Thanks for joining in this week at Paper Sundaes!

    Like

    Reply

  11. Sharon Keanly
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 12:23:31

    Oh Amelia, I am not sure why this post did not pop into my email box yesterday… this is absolutely STUNNING. Words really fail me right now. I am really gushing here at the sheer beauty of this tag. I just LOVE everything about it. This style is so appealing to me. My friend, you are such a talent. I wish we lived closer so that we could craft together and you could teach me how to do this. Look forward to seeing what you’ll be creating next. Tons of hugs, Sharon x

    Like

    Reply

  12. Jocelyn
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 11:42:48

    I agree with everyone: this is breaktakingly GORGEOUS!! Even if you had problems with the hole – I didn’t even notice – but we are always our own worst critics. Truly a work of art!!

    Like

    Reply

  13. Riet (harikini)
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 09:22:57

    Oh Amelia, I love your style.
    I always want to work with flowers, but never get a great result.

    Like

    Reply

  14. Carol (Granny)
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 06:20:42

    Gorgeous creation! If that hole was too big you’ve done a fantastic job of filling it cause I sure can’t see it. All of the beautiful embellishments, layout, and design of this tag is totally amazing. I love the frame, the fluorishes, and those gorgeous roses. “Hugs” Carol

    Like

    Reply

  15. Angelica Turner
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 03:06:36

    This is absolutely gorgeous, so much beautiful details. TFS

    Like

    Reply

  16. Anonymous
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 01:42:54

    Hello Amelia,
    Popped over from MIM to take a closer look at your Tag, you have placed some beautiful embellishments on your tag which creates the Vintage appeal, as far as your Big Hole is concerned you have covered it up extremely well and it looks like part of the design.
    Well done.
    Smiles:)

    Like

    Reply

  17. Fiona
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 19:28:06

    what a stunning creation, love all the detail and those flowers are awesome!! Thanks for joining us at Paper Sundaes this week.

    Fi
    x

    Like

    Reply

  18. Jan Garber
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 18:34:06

    Beautiful project! Feel free to visit me here in Phoenix, Arizona…high today, 100F!

    Like

    Reply

  19. Joyce
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 18:28:15

    Dear Amelia
    Stunning Tag card with the lace butterflies and roses.
    An amazing way of doing a Tag.
    Stamping Hugs Joyce.

    Like

    Reply

  20. Hels Sheridan
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 16:14:07

    Cor this is totally lush!!! Thanks for sharing :O))

    Like

    Reply

  21. Moz
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 16:04:44

    Breathtakingly, Drop Dead Gorgeous, Amelia!
    So beautiful, it is stunning.
    Can’t wait for your next creation…..
    Hugz

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment. Thank you for taking the time.

