Cat-ti-tude

Hello dear blog friends,

The past two weeks were just hectic with all the preparation at work and at home before my knee replacement surgery. Oh yes, time flies and Monday morning I am admitted to hospital and on Tuesday , surgery will take place. I am afraid of what’s going to happen but I believe this is for the best.  Unfortunately I had not much time for crafting as I had to finalize work at the office and to make sure dear hubby and the dogs have everything at home to survive. I am going to miss you and all the wonderful creations  during the next week but I am back as soon as possible.

On Saturday morning I attended a Cricut class at one of our local craft stores and that took my mind a little bit away from the upcoming operation. I really enjoyed all the new things Tilla  showed us about the Cricut Imagine. I bought mine last year August and must confess that I haven’t had the time to play with this wonderful machine. She prepared for each of us a kit with pre-cut shapes to make 2 cards, a little box, booklet and flower pin. She is so talented with an enormous knowledge of Cricut machines  and her cards are gorgeous. The adorable cat is from the Cricut Imagine More cartridge and I cased the layout from her example.

For sure, after making this card I am going to use my Cricut Imagine more when getting back from hospital. I also discovered three clean and simple cards I made a few weeks ago for a CAS challenge but totally forgot to upload. Not the prettiest cards I made but will do for a notelet. The images are from a Inkadinkado stamp set I bought last year and never used. The sentiment stamp is from JustRite. The birds are really cute and I just added a few strokes of colour , dabs of glitter and embellishments to let them pop. For the first card I used little pink embroided rosebuds:

A feeder and little birdie hanging on a yellow ribbon:

The last card has pearls and splashes of blue:

Well this is all from me today, hope you like what you see. Thanks for visiting and I  hope you won’t leave my mailing list during my absence. Will soon be back with lots of cards. Have a wonderful week, keep well and happy crafting.

Regards from South Africa,

Amelia

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wendyvdkooij
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 23:41:09

    Hi Amelia,
    The cards with the birdhouses are really sweet. Love the white card and black stamp with al little color. Great! I want to wish you good luck with you surgery and hope to see you blogging very soon.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Helen Dooley
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 23:21:06

    These are really awesome! Good luck with surgery! hugs!

    Like

    Reply

  3. chillipip SA
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 18:10:59

    Thinking of you and hoping all is well , love these CAS cards of yours .

    Like

    Reply

  4. butlersabroad
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 03:52:29

    Hi Amelia
    First of all good luck for Tuesday, I hope your recovery goes well and you get to spend lots of time crafting! Love the cards, especially the CAS ones, they’re not the easiest thing to make and you nailed them all.

    Hugs
    Brenda

    Like

    Reply

  5. Marie-Louise
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 00:29:46

    Absolutely love your clean and simple cards. Will be thinking of you and sending prayers and good wishes your way for a speedy recovery. No need to be apprehensive about your operation – these people do these every day and you just have to concentrate on getting back to full health and planning your next creation for all of us to drool over. Looking forward to your next card which hopefully will be soon. Every good wish. Keep well.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Maulwürfchen
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 00:17:15

    Like your cards very much. The first with the cat reminds me of the cat from Alice in wonderland, in Germany she’s called “Grinsekatze”. 🙂
    Wish you all the best for next week, hope you’ll be back soon.
    Hugs

    Like

    Reply

  7. Carol (Granny)
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 22:49:32

    The CAS cards are stunning Amelia and say it all with such beauty. I’m going to try this style one of these days…….if I ever get beyond more is never enough….LOL

    I too have a Cricut Expression and seldom use it except for maybe letters. Not crazy about having to buy the cartridges so I have a program that will let you design your cards with cutouts and then cut them. That’s about as adventurous as I get with it but it is a wonderful machine.

    Thinking of you and sending lots of prayers for a successful surgery and speedy recovery. Keep us posted when you are home and how things are going. We will all be here for you upon your return,
    “Love & Hugs” Carol

    Like

    Reply

  8. Ursula Uphof
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 21:09:15

    Dear Amelia, love the cards, I do like the CAS cards. I also have a problem have had my Cricut expression for almost a year and not used it enough…but am going to TRY and change that when I get back home again. Wishing you all the best for your surgery and a speedy recovery. Do take it easy though. Will be thinking of you.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Anonymous
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 21:06:54

    Jou kaartjies is pragtig – jy het maar net daardie “touch”.
    Baie sterkte met jou operasie wat voorle, hang jou aan die hemel op!
    Liefdetjies
    Tienie

    Like

    Reply

  10. Joyce
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 20:13:27

    Dear Amelia
    Your cards are wonderful a real treat today with more than one. Wishing you
    Good Luck for your surgery and a quick recovery to good health.
    Will be thinking of you.
    Happy Stamping when you are up to it.
    Hugs Joyce.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Sharon Keanly
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 19:31:58

    Your cards are beautiful as always Amelia. Good luck with the surgery. My Mom had one and has not looked back. Sending you lots of love and hugs dear, we’ll miss you but you need this time to rest. Sharon xx

    Like

    Reply

  12. Moz
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 18:40:56

    The cards are all fantastic! I love the CAS cards the most – the little bit of colour makes the cards come alive. Cute images. Will miss you in your absence, but rest assured, all in blog land will be wishing you all the best and look forward to seeing you back in action soon.
    Much love and hugz
    Moz

    Like

    Reply

  13. hannelie
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 18:21:32

    Dis alles so pragtig Amelia… sjoe jy’t ongelooflike talent!
    Sterkte vir die operasie! hoop als verloop glad… gaan jou vir seker mis!
    Liefde
    Hannelie

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment. Thank you for taking the time.

