Festive in Pink

Hello everyone,

After a long absence from making cards I had something today to post – a shabby pink Christmas card. I successfully completed my online continuing education course in librarianship and received my certificate from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee  last week, so I am back in my craft room enjoying my favourite hobby. It was difficult to get my mojo back after not been creative for a while but hopefully that will improve soon. This year I decided to do my Christmas cards in pastel colours instead of the traditional colours of the festive season. I think the recipients will be a little bit stunned about the pinks so I hope they like what they see! For this card I used a template to glue the paper roses in the form of a Christmas tree. For more dimension on the tree I added strings of  gold pearls. The little snowflakes were die cut with a Marianne Design Creatables and is supposed to be part of a flower die cut.

I found a few challenges to enter my card:

A close-up of the Christmas tree and snowflakes

Project details:

  • White and pink cardstock
  • Tree template
  • Lili of the Valley circle sentiment
  • Whimsy postmark stamp
  • Tim Holtz Alterations die “Typeset” for numbers
  • Spellbinders Nestabilities die “Reverse Wonky Rectangles”
  • Marianne Design Creatables (LR0111) for snowflakes
  • Cuttlebug embossing folder “Paper Lace”
  • Paper roses
  • Pearl strings
  • Lace
  • Seam binding “Pink Tulip”
  • Skwiglues “Crystal Gold”
  • Pink gemstones
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink “Spun Sugar”

Thanks for stopping by today, as always it is much appreciated. Have a wonderful day and happy crafting.

Regards from South Africa,

Amelia

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Curt O'Brien
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 06:22:30

    OK, I take back my last comment on your most recent card. . .THIS is THE MOST BEAUTIFUL card I’ve ever seen! My mouth stayed open as I took it all in. . .this is a work of art and what a JOY this would be to receive. I’m so jealous of the person who is getting this one. AMAZING! Best, Curt

    Like

    Reply

  2. Maulwürfchen
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 20:20:21

    Hi Amelia, found your blog today, and I’m happy that I did, because your artwork is amazing. Wow!!! Go on!
    Wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
    Greetings from Germany

    Like

    Reply

  3. DianeMoneyGoolsby
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 20:42:49

    Amelia: Oh!!! my!!! Your card is so very beautiful–I love non-traditional colors on Christmas cards! Glad you visited us at Simply Create Too and entered our Embossing Challenge. Hope you get to enter our upcoming challenges, too!

    Diane
    Simply Create Too Design Team Member
    http://DianesDigitalDesigns.blogspot.com/

    Like

    Reply

  4. Sharon F
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 17:24:43

    What a lovely card, love the layers and dimension!!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Margy
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 10:00:50

    There is one ‘new’ South African word thats sums up your card …. EEEIIISSSHHHH!!!! Congrats on the achievement with your studies and have a blessed Christmas.

    Like

    Reply

  6. chillipip SA
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 18:36:00

    This is the best Christmas card i have seen Amelia and somethings are best said in Afikaans as hannelie said asemrowend.
    If this card is winging its way to Cape town you better get going on a duplicate for me.
    On a serious note it is stunning and congratulations on your new qualification I hope it stands you in good stead at work.
    So pleased you are back i have missed you in blogland

    Like

    Reply

  7. Shelly McGovern Schmidt
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 06:35:45

    Thanks so much for joining us at the Belli challenge with your wonderful card! I saw this on Pintrest the other night. Your garland amongst the flowers is awesome!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Karen Wallace
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 14:27:55

    Oh Wow this is fabulous!!! Thanks for joining us at Creative Belli!

    Like

    Reply

  9. Colleen Dietrich
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 22:50:42

    Very pretty, and I love your creative spin on a CHristmas tree! Congrats on your win at TSTR.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Maria
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 21:04:57

    Oh, and big congrats too on completing your course…how exciting!!!:-))

    Like

    Reply

  11. Maria
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 21:02:09

    Wow!!! Big congratulations on your win for the challenge at the Shabby Tea Room! Your card is absolutely stunning! I love all the pretty roses for the Christmas tree and the string of gold pearls…super beautiful!!! So well deserving of the win! Take care and Happy Holidays!!:-))

    Like

    Reply

  12. Anne
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 18:59:44

    Simply Stunning.. I love it .. thanks for sharing.. and congrats on your win at the shabby tea room..

    Like

    Reply

  13. Toni Hinchcliffe
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 16:27:19

    I love pink, and I LOVE this card! Absolutely exquisite!

    Like

    Reply

  14. Marlene (cards4u)
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 15:08:09

    WOW!! This is over the top gorgeous! Congrats on your win at The Shabby Tea Room : )

    Like

    Reply

  15. supersnooks13
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 14:44:33

    Stunning ! I adore pink Christmas cards….

    Like

    Reply

  16. Evgenia Petzer
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 08:02:27

    Wow! what a gorgeous card! found your blog through shabby tea room, and what a surprise! you are from SA! I live now in Benoni< and you are the first girl, whose cards i love from SA! will follow your blog!

    Like

    Reply

  17. Lea Lawson
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 06:20:32

    Beautiful! LOVE the tree of pink roses!!

    Like

    Reply

  18. Jennifer Ferrell
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 04:14:48

    This is the prettiest pink Christmas tree I have ever seen! I’m so thrilled you shared it with us at Papercraft Star!
    Kindest regards,
    Jennifer

    Like

    Reply

  19. Kristi S.
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 20:04:08

    This is gorgeous!! I adore the tree made from flowers,,so clever!

    Like

    Reply

  20. Jan
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 18:10:37

    I have never seen anything quite like this ! Incredibly beautiful. Thanks for playing along with our tree challenge this week at Papercraft Star. Merry Merry !!

    Like

    Reply

  21. Regan
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 16:23:08

    Beautiful! How creative to use rosettes for the tree and I love the trimming on the tree, wonderful work! Thank you for joining us at Papercraft Star!

    Like

    Reply

  22. Fran
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 14:54:53

    WOW! What amazing work! Love the flower tree and wire decorations. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing with us at The Shabby Tearoom

    Like

    Reply

  23. Ann Whitfield
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 13:42:45

    Wow! This is so different and so beautiful Amelia – thank you for joining us at Crafty Ann’s
    Ann x

    Like

    Reply

  24. Pauline
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 13:06:17

    Beautiful, a wonderful and original idea! Thanks for joining us at The Ribbon Reel this week!

    Like

    Reply

  25. Tracey
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 12:40:15

    Wow, what a stunning design Amelia 🙂 I hope you are well & are having a great weekend.
    Hugs
    Tracey
    xx

    Like

    Reply

  26. Moz
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 09:02:58

    Congratulations and welcome back!
    You have been seriously missed Amelia. Your cards are always a delight to enjoy and your inspiration is priceless. I love this card – it is so tasteful and elegant.
    Looking forward to more postings!
    Hugz
    Moz

    Like

    Reply

  27. Joyce
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 07:57:59

    Dear Ameila
    Great news on completing your course — a fantastic achiement.
    Your card is in my favourite colour of Pink — a most beautiful card.
    Wishing you and your family all the best for Christmas and the coming year.
    With Stamping Hugs Joyce.

    Like

    Reply

  28. Sharon Keanly
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 00:35:46

    Firstly, congratulations on the Certificate Amelia. That is wonderful news! Secondly, I really hope this card is winging its way to Cape Town…hahaha It is STUNNING! Gosh, anyone receiving this will treasure it for ever! Just love how creative you are and the pink is fabulous. Have a super weekend and welcome back to blogland. Your mojo is firing on all cylinders! hugs Sharon x

    Like

    Reply

  29. Marie-Louise
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 23:04:21

    What a really fabulous card. Love the pink. Congratulations on completing your course and receiving your certificate – well done.

    Like

    Reply

  30. Carol (Granny)
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 20:12:03

    Your mojo is in tact and flourishing with this gorgeous creation Amelia. So glad to have you back as I’ve really missed your creations. Haven’t been crafting myself lately as hubby has not been well and needs most of my attention. It’s wonderful that you completed your course and received your CE certificate. I’m so proud of you. The recipient of this card will be in awe at the beauty of this card and will for sure cherish it. Have a wonderful holiday and Christmas. “Love & Hugs” Carol

    Like

    Reply

  31. ursula uphof
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 17:27:47

    What a stunning creation Amelia. I am sure your recipients will be thrilled. Congratulations on finishing you course and receiving your Certificate. Well done.
    Thank you so much for your lovely comments left on my blog the other day, I do appreciate it. So glad you are back creating and I am sure your mojo will soon enough be back in full strength, Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

    Reply

  32. hannelie
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 17:09:04

    Amelia, dis asemrowend mooi!
    Baie geluk met jou sertifikaat! Ek is so bly ons gaan nou meer van jou te siene kry!
    Dankie vir jou inloer nou-die-dag!
    Woestyngroete

    Like

    Reply

Please leave a comment. Thank you for taking the time.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.